Book Reviews

Hush Hush Saga (Books 1-4): Book Review

It has been a long time since I have read the first installment of this series. Nearly 6 years to be exact. As I looked through my bookshelf for my next read, I realized that I had not read the final book, titled Finale. So, I figured it would only be fitting that I share my review on the series all together.

hushhush For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. At least, not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and probing eyes, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment. But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust—she can’t decide whether she should fall into Patch’s arms or run and hide from him. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth more unsettling than any feeling Patch evokes. For Nora stands amid an ancient battle between the immortal and those who have fallen—and choosing the wrong side will cost her life.

 The first book was an instant cover crush. I remember walking through Barnes and Noble and spotting this and not caring what the synopsis said. I knew I had to have this gorgeous book. Luckily, this cover crush didn’t fail me because the book was great! The writing, amazing! Character development keeps you sucked in and the action was so exciting! I was hooked! The excitement was nonstop for me and left me yearning for more. This book gets a 5/5 stars.

crescendoDespite starting a relationship with Patch, her guardian angel (whose title is the only angelic thing about him), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking good for Nora Grey. Aside from fearing her boyfriend is interested in her nemesis, Nora is haunted by images of her father and becomes obsessed with understanding his disappearance. As Nora delves into the mystery of her father’s death, she begins to wonder whether her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it. And since Patch isn’t answering her questions, Nora has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch—or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

 Here we have the sequel, Crescendo. Things get tricky with Nora and Patch’s relationship as Patch seems to be hiding things about her father and what the future may hold for her and what being Nephilim really means. It doesn’t look like Nora can count on him and when she searches for answers on her own, things gets dirty. This book was also an exciting read until then end. It also gets a 5/5 stars.

silenceNora Grey can’t remember the past five months of her life. After the initial shock of waking up in a cemetery and being told that she has been inexplicably missing for weeks, she tries to get her life back on track. So she goes to school, hangs with her best friend, Vee, and dodges her mom’s creepy new boyfriend.

But there is this voice in the back of her head, an idea that she can almost reach out and touch. Visions of angel wings and unearthly creatures that have nothing to do with the life she knows. And an unshakable feeling that a part of her is missing.

Then Nora crosses paths with a sexy stranger, with whom she feels a mesmerizing connection. He seems to hold all the answers…and her heart. Every minute she spends with him feels more and more intense until she realizes she could be falling in love. Again.

   The third installment starts with Nora trying to lead a normal life, all while trying to figure out why she can’t recall the last five months. She tries to make sense of the strange visions she continues to have. While this book was pretty good, it really got slow towards the end. I can’t say much more than that without throwing some spoilers in. I give this one a 3/5 stars.

finaleNora is more certain than ever that she is in love with Patch. Fallen angel or no, he is the one for her. Her heritage and destiny may mean they are fated to be enemies, but there is no turning her back on him. Now Nora and Patch must gather their strength to face one last, perilous trial. Old enemies return, new enemies are made, and a friend’s ultimate betrayal threatens the peace Patch and Nora so desperately want. The battle lines are drawn—but which sides are they on? And in the end, are there some obstacles even love can’t conquer?

 And here we have the conclusion of the series. I honestly don’t even know where to begin. This book was so difficult to get through. Now, I did have quite a gap between reading the third and fourth book, but I felt myself getting back into Nora and Patch’s world after the first chapter. There was a point in the book that got a bit exciting but the story began to lag towards the end and felt like it rushed to a close. I think this series could have been great in two books. I fell into a bit of a reading drought after putting this one down. Now that I’ve completely shaken this series off, I’m ready to jump into a good read! As for the rating, I give this a 2/5 stars.

Happy reading friends!

x-Steph

Note** All blurbs taken from Amazon.com

Book Reviews, Books, Read, Review

Never Never BK 1: Book Review

 

 

never-never

“Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.”

I read this book in two sittings. It was a pretty quick read and REALLY confusing. But in a way that you absolutely had to find out where the missing puzzle pieces had vanished to. This is the first installment of three by Colleen Hoover. I admit that this book caught my eye with its neat cover. I have been known to dive into a novel because of a severe case of cover crush on numerous occasions. What I enjoyed about this book, without giving away any details, is that from the very first page you are walking with the main characters. You literally have no idea what has happened to them and are on a whirlwind of awkward positions in order to find out the truth and why they have zero memory of who they are.I give this book 3.4/5 stars. I felt that there were a few parts that dragged on but boy did Colleen Hoover give us the cliff hanger of a lifetime. I will definitely be picking up the next installment quite soon.

Until next time…

Happy reading! x Steph 🙂

 

**Note: Blurb taken from Goodreads.com**

Book Reviews, Books, GoodReads

Me Before You: Book Review

me_before_you Last night I managed to finish reading this book without drowning in my own tears. Yes, this is sure to bring on the water works. Unless you are made of complete stone, of course. Louisa Clark is absolutely lovable from the beginning with her eccentric style, wittiness, and loyal heart. Will Traynor builds a wall of bricks after an accident that lands him in a wheelchair and paralyzed from the chest down. This is not your every day love story. However, this will definitely open your eyes to the kind of love that is forgiving and completely understanding in ways unlike anything you’ve heard of before. I give this book a 5/5 stars.

There is also a film production of this novel starring two amazing actors, Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin. They were both amazing choices for the roles of Lou and Will. I will say this though, if you want every ounce of detail to this amazing story, read the novel before watching the film. That is all. 🙂

 

“They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?”

*** Blurb taken from Amazon.com

Happy Reading! x

Book Reviews

Book Review: The Wrath & The Dawn 

the wrath and the dawn.jpg Where do I even begin? For the past week I have been in a magical world of sandy plains and mysteriously beautiful dark haired and fearless characters.
My heart is overwhelmed with excitement and longing for more out of these characters that I have completely fallen for. I suppose I will simply do my best to survive until the sequel comes out. (Sigh)

Renee Ahdieh has truly created such a mesmerizing tale that will stay with me always, leaving me here with thoughts of Shahrzad & Khalid, the king who takes a wife only to have her killed at dawn. My oh my, what a story!!

This is an absolute MUST READ!! Allow yourself to be transported to this magical land filled with mystery, suspense, romance, and action.

Happy reading fellow book lovers!! 😉
Xo

© Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo, 2015.